Pacific Masters SCY Championships – April 7-9, 2017

Moraga, CA: The Davis Aquatic Masters finished fourth overall at the Pacific Masters Swimming Short Course Championships this past weekend at Campolindo HS. The team scored 4,580 points, nearly 50% more than the 3,242 from last year. In a very close race for the title, long-time champions University of San Francisco took the honors with 9,740 pts, barely edging runners-up MEMO of Laney College (9,613) and past National Champion Walnut Creek (9,358). 

Traditionally, the final team rankings are separated into Large, Medium and Small categories. That information hasn't been published yet, but when it does DAM will either remain fourth in the Large Team division or be declared champions of the Medium-Size Division. Individual Hi-Point winners at the meet from DAM were: Hannah Krovetz, Susan Munn, Satori iwamoto and Andy McPherson. The top 5 men and women point scorers for DAM team were: WOMEN Munn (136 pts), Krovetz (131), Jane Russell (128), Sarah Hernandez (124) and Jenny Mohn & Cecily Sprouse tied with 123 pts. MEN McPherson (141), Matt Roper (133), Alex May (130), Iwamoto (124), and Kevin Waterson (116).

Munn was also recognized at the meet by Pacific Masters as one of the 2016 Swimmers of the Year for her overall successes last season in short course, long course and open water competitions and was awarded a $100 gift certificate. Robert Norris was the runner-up in his age group, earning a $50 gift card and Leslie Wesergaard & Russell were third-place finishers and received $25 cards.

DAM also benefited from the addition of ten swimmers who represented DAM at an LMSC championship meet for the first-time ever. Those newcomers were: Avery Krovetz, Alex May, Caroline Loomis, Jan Walker, Gary Swenor, Lynn Narlseky, Dara Jwaideh, Cary Graig, Jeremy Prim and Tom Frankel.

Overall, new DAM Team Records were set in twenty-five individual events by ten DAM swimmers. Those swimmers are: Betty Dugan (75) 50 Back. Dara Jwaideh (60) 50, 100 Back. Jane Russell (53) 50 Fly, 400 IM. Cecily Sprouse (60) 50, 100 Free, 50, 100, 200 Brst. Mark Braly (81) 100 Back, 200 IM. Ted Deacon (67) 500 Free. Tom Frankel (75) 50, 100 Brst. Andy McPherson (70) 50, 100 Free, 50, 100 Fly, 50, 100 Back, 100 IM. Gary Swenor (63) 100, 200 Brst. Relay records were set in four events. Those swimmers were: Westergaard, Nancy Farley, McPherson, Frankel, Mary Kahn, Swenor, Doug Smith, Sprouse, Emma Garforth, Russell, Julie Roberts, Caroline Loomis, Munn and Robert Norris.

DAM swimmers were also event champions in 25 individual events and 8 relays. Hernandez led all DAM swimmers in event titles with five individual victories in the 100 Free, 50, 100 Fly; 50, 100 Ba and 100 IM. McPherson took first place honors in the 100 Fr, 50, 100 Fly and 100 IM. The other swimmers and the number of events they won were: Dugan (2), H. Krovetz (2), Munn (2), and A. Krovetz (2). And with one victory each; Melanie BelluominiBetty Dugan, Mohn, Braly, and May. Members of winning relay teams were: Garforth, Russell, Julie Roberts, Caroline Loomis, Frankel, Dugan, Munn, Norris, Jackie Chow, Scott Muir, Roper, Westergaard, McPherson, Farley, Iwamoto, Steffen Docken, Hernandez, and Michal-Sue Weinman.

In a tribute to the longevity of our DAM organization, we may have had another team first at the meet: a mother-father-daughter-son relay. Here are Avery Krovetz, Emma Garforth,Ted Krovetz and Hannah Krovetz just before their family 200 medley relay.