PacMasters Short Course Championships - April 6-8, 2018 

Moraga, CA: The Davis Aquatic Masters finished fourth overall (3,632 pts) at the Pacific Masters Swimming Short Course Championships this past weekend at Campolindo HS. It's been close for a few years, but for the first time ever, the team title race did not go to either long-time champions University of San Francisco or Walnut Creek Masters but to Marcia's Enthusiastic Masters of Oakland (MEMO). MEMO and WCM each came into the meet with 108 swimmers but MEMO outscored WCM in the relays and distance events to take the banner with 10,766 pts to 9,877.

Traditionally, the final team rankings are separated into Large, Medium and Small categories. That information hasn't been published yet, but with only 38 swimmers in the meet, DAM should be in the Medium Division with a first-place finish. Leading the way in DAM points earned are Individual Hi-Point winners Satori Iwamoto (138 pts) and Andy McPherson (145). The other top 5 men and women point scorers are: WOMEN - Jenny Mohn-4th (116 pts), Emma Garforth-3rd (130), Mizuho Iwamoto-5th (121) and Susan Munn-4th (110). MEN - Jeremy Prim-4th (103), Matt Roper-3rd (127), Mark Evans-4th(117) and Mark Braly-5th-(21).

Along with Marc Blumberg (18-24 yrs old), McPherson (70-74) and Braly (80-84) also were recognized at the meet by Pacific Masters as 2017 Age Group Swimmers of the Year for their overall successes last season in short course, long course and open water competitions and were awarded $100 gift certificates (see photo). Matt Roper and Jane Russell were runners-up in their age group, earning $50 gift cards and Sam McAdam was a third-place finisher, receiving a $25 card.

Andy McPherson received an additional honor when he was selected as the 2017 Recipient of the Laura Val Outstanding Male Swimmer of the Year. It's the first time a DAM member has earned this award since Brad Winsor in 1995 and the second time for McPherson, who previously won in 1992.

Overall, new DAM Individual Records were set in twenty-five individual events by nine DAM swimmers. Those swimmers are: LillyBelle Deer (24) 500 Free, Emma Garforth (50) 50, 100, 200 Brst, Jane Russell (54) 50 Fly, Kim Elsbach (55) 200, 500, 1000 and 1650 Free, Kris Hornoff (70) 50 Brst, Leslie Westergaard (75) 50, 100 and 200 Back, Greg Menna (40) 50, 100 Brst and 100 IM, Mark Evans (60) 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 and 1650 Free,  and Andy McPherson (71) 50 Back and 200 IM. Relay Records were set in two events. Those swimmers are: Matt Roper, Greg Menna, Mel Belluomini, Melanie Gentles (35+ Mixed 200 Medley) and Leslie Westergaard, Greg Stoner, Andy McPherson, Susan Munn (65+ Mixed 400 Medley). 

DAM swimmers were also event champions in 29 individual events and 7 relays. McPherson led all DAM swimmers in event titles with six individual victories. Others with multiple wins are: LillyBelle Deer, Emma Garforth, Marc Blumberg, Satori Iwamoto, and Mark Evans. Individual event winners are: Jenny Mohn, Jane Russell, Leslie Westergaard, Matt Roper, Greg Menna, Ted Krovetz, Michael Brown and Mark Braly. Members of winning relay teams are: Jackie Chow, Emma Garforth, Mel Belluomini, Beth Bourne, Greg Menna, Matt Roper, Kevin Waterson, Michael Brown, Scott Muir, Ted Krovetz, Melanie Gentles, Jane Russell, Leslie Westergaard, Greg Stoner, Andy McPherson, Mizuho Iwamoto and Susan Munn.